History Record View

Title: Governors of Indiana
File Attachment:
Attachment Type:

1816-22-Jonathan Jennings.
1822-Ratliff Boone, September to December.
1822-25-William Hendricks.
1825-(part of)-James Ray.
1825-31-James B. Ray.
1831-37-Noah Noble.
1837-40-David Wallace.
1840-43-Samuel Bigger.
1843-48-James Whitcomb.
1848-49-(acting) P. C. Dunning.
1849-57-Joseph A. Wright.
1857-60-Ashbel P. Willard.
1860-61-Abraham Hammond.
1861-(four days)-H. S. Lane.
1861-67-Oliver P. Morton.
1867-73-Conrad Baker.
1873-77-Thomas A. Hendricks.
1877-80-James D. Williams.
1880-81-Isaac P. Gray (acting).
1881-85-Albert G. Porter.
1885-89-Isaac P. Gray.
1889-91-Alvin P. Hovey.
1891-93-Ira J. Chase (acting).
1893-97-Claude Matthews.
189j7-1901-J. A. Mount.
1901-05-Winfield T. Durbin.
1905-09-J. Frank Hanly.
1909-13-Thomas R. Marshall.

The territorial governors of Indiana were: Gen. Arthur St. Clair, governor of the Northwest Territory, 1787 to 1800; John Gibson, acting from July 4, 1800, to January 10, 1801; William H. Harrison, 1801 to 1812; Thomas Posey, from 1812 to 1816.

[Page 238.]

Date: 1/1/1913
Origin: Past and Present of Warren and Fountain Counties Indiana
Author: Thomas A. Clifton, Editor
Record ID: 00001436
Type: Book
Source Archive: Williamsport-Washington Township Public Library
Date Entered: 8/10/2001
Collection: Williamsport-Washington Township Public Library
Entered By: Leslie J. Rice

Information in this record is provided for personal research purposes only and may not be reproduced for publication. If you have questions about copyright issues contact the archive source listed above.