History Record View

Title: Present Boundary of County Fixed
File Attachment:
Attachment Type:

January 3, 1830, the Legislature ordered that the southern tier of townships in Benton county should be attached to Warren county, for civil and criminal jurisdiction. February 3, 1832, an another act was passed by the Legislature, ordering that a commissioner from each of the counties of Warren and Vermillion should be appointed, "to more fully establish the boundaries" between those two counties. The record is not quite clear what became of this order, but be that as it may, on a day in January, 1833, the following enactment was passed, and the present boundaries of Warren county were thus legally fixed:

"Be it enacted, etc., That the following shall form and constitute the dividing line between the counties of Vermillion and Warren, to-wit: Beginning on the east bank of the Wabash river where the township line dividing the townships number 19 and 20 intersects the same, thence west with said township line to the range line, dividing ranges 9 and 10 west, thence north with said range line to the township line dividing townships 19 and 20 in range 10 west, thence west with said township line to the line dividing the states of Indiana and Illinois."

(Approved January 15, 1833.)

The county was named in honor of Gen. Joseph Warren, who was killed at the battle of Bunker Hill, in Revolutionary days, of whom it has been related by American historians, that a "braver man never lived."

[Page 220-221.]

Date: 1/1/1913
Origin: Past and Present of Fountain and Warren Counties Indiana
Author: Thomas A. Clifton, Editor
Record ID: 00001481
Type: Book
Source Archive: Williamsport-Washington Township Public Library
Date Entered: 8/10/2001
Collection: Williamsport-Washington Township Public Library
Entered By: Leslie J. Rice

Information in this record is provided for personal research purposes only and may not be reproduced for publication. If you have questions about copyright issues contact the archive source listed above.